The House, originally called the Franklin Mansion – the first architecturally designed home in Deadwood - was built in 1892 by pioneers Harris and Anna Franklin. Another Deadwood pioneer, W.E. Adams purchased the home in 1920 and occupied it until his death in 1934.
Following W.E. Adams' death, Mary, his second wife, closed the home with all furniture and furnishings in place. Annually she would return and have minor maintenance performed. This period of abandonment engendered both negative and positive effects; there was a great deal of water damage and deterioration, making the House's restoration a monumental task. On the positive side, all the contents of the House are original possessions of one of Deadwood's most beloved citizens and the restoration was able to return the home to its original grandeur.
The 1.5 million dollar restoration has resulted in a landmark of superb museum quality that preserves Deadwood history along with the histories of two of the city's founding families.
Parking for the Historic Adams House, 22 Van Buren Ave. is available in front of the historic home or in the Sherman Street parking lot next to the Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center (HARCC).
We inspire the global community by preserving and celebrating the cultural heritage of Deadwood and the Black Hills in the context of the American West through exceptional exhibits, innovative educational programs and access to extensive collections in unique settings.
Days of ’76 Museum, Adams Museum, Historic Adams House, and the Homestake Adams Research and Cultural Center.
This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer.
Media Contact: Rose Speirs
Deadwood History, Inc.
June 21, 2012